Log in

INTERMEDIATE COURSES

(CANSAIL 3 & CANSail 4)

Have you completed the CANSail 1&2 or the Old Salt Test but still looking to take your sailing up a notch? An intermediate course may be just the thing.


Please scroll down to see the various CANSAIL 3 & CANSAIL 4 courses that will be offered this season.


Our intermediate courses are based on the CANSail standard set out by the CYA.  The CANSail 3 or 4 certifications awarded at the end of a successful course are recognized nationally by the CYA. Courses are capped at 7 boats (14 students).

Before registering for any course, you'll need to be a full member of St. James Town. You can register for membership here.

Prerequisites for cansail 3 courses are CANSail 1&2 or a successful J-Town Old Salt Test Level 1.

CANSail 3 Courses

This fun and challenging 10-session course runs twice each year, and teaches more advanced boat handling and sail trimming skills to those confident in their Learn to Sail skills.

Specific skills covered include:
  • Sail trim for a balanced helm
  • Roll tacking
  • Stopping and starting
  • Backwards sailing

CANSail 3 is a fantastic experience for members interested in participating in racing, or those who simply want to push their skills to the next level.

All courses start at the club and take place in Toronto's Outer Harbour. The cities mentioned in each course title is just a name to differentiate the courses.

All students must be club members before registering. Furthermore, CANSail 1&2 or a successful J-Town Old Salt Test Level 1 are required to enroll.

CANSail 3 - may Weekdays
(Drake
cohort)

Monday May 27 6, 9am - 4pm
Tuesday May 28, 9am - 4pm
Wednesday May 29, 9am - 4pm
Thursday May 30, 9am - 4pm
Friday May 31, 9am - 4pm
Monday June 3, 9am - 4pm (makeup day*)



CANSail 3 - june Weeknights
(Cartier
cohort)

Tuesday, May 28,  6-9pm
Thursday, May 30,  6-9pm
Tuesday, June 4,  6-9pm
Thursday, June 6,  6-9pm
Tuesday, June 11,  6-9pm
Thursday, June 13,  6-9pm
Tuesday, June 18 6-9pm
Thursday, May 20,  6-9pm
Tuesday, June 25,  6-9pm
Thursday, June 27 ,  6-9pm
Saturday, June 29, 9-4pm (makeup day*)

CANSail 3 - july Weekends
(Chichester
cohort)

Sunday July 14, 9am - 4pm
Sunday July 28, 9am - 4pm
Saturday August 3, 9 am - 4pm
Sunday Aug 4, 9am - 4pm
Saturay Aug 10, 9am - 4pm
Sunday Aug 18, 9am - 4pm (makeup day*)


CANSail 3 - august Weekdays
(erik the red
cohort)

Monday, August 5, 9-4pm
Tuesday, August 6, 9-4pm
Wednesday, August 7, 9-4pm
Thursday, August 8, 9-4pm
Friday, August 9, 9-4pm
Monday, August 12, 9-4pm (make up day)


CANSail 4 Course

This course will be offered for the first time at J-Town this 2023 season. It also follows a 10-session course.

CANSail4 targets more advanced boat handling and sail trimming skills, with fine tuning for racing in mind. Students will build on the technical lessons of CANSail 3 and apply them in tactical racing situations. Topics include: downspeed sailing, covering, 'point' vs 'speed' mode, sail shape and tactical race starts.

All students must be club members before registering. Furthermore, CANSail 3 or a successful J-Town Old Salt Test Level 2 are required to enroll.

Below is the Course Schedule for CANSail3 & CANSail 4 courses.

CANSail 4 - August Weeknights
(tabarly
cohort)

Tuesday, August 6, 5-8pm
Thursday, August 8, 5-8pm
Tuesday, August 13, 5-8pm
Thursday, August 15, 5-8pm
Tuesday, August 20, 5-8pm
Thursday, August 22, 5-8pm
Tuesday, August 27, 5-8pm
Thursday, August 29, 5-8pm
Tuesday, September 3, 5-8pm
Thursday, September 5, 5-8pm
Saturday, September 7, 9am - 4pm (makeup day*)



Student resources

Student policies


*All courses take place in Toronto's Outer Harbour. The cities mentioned in each course title is just a name to differentiate the courses.

** Make-up days are extra days that will be used only if previous sessions are cancelled (typically for lack of wind). They are not days that students can use to make up for missed classes.